The Book Marketing Network

For book/ebook authors, publishers, & self-publishers

Hi, my name is Mavis J. Romer...I'm rather new to the publishing field. I'm in the process of writing my first book, and would really love to get feedback on the self-publishing tip(s). I've heard quite a bit on this subject, but not enough for me to feel comfortable in choosing it over any other process to get started. What can be told to me that I should know first and foremost?

Views: 76

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Mavis and welcome to this Network! I guess the biggest question to ask yourself is: 'do you want to maintain control over your work' or 'do you want to loose control over your work'. That will determine which route you decide to go. More and more authors are opting for self-publishing for a number of reasons and the biggest is to maintain all rights and control -- As a designer, I have worked on both sides: for big publishing houses and for the individual self-publishing author. I can tell you this, Mavis, in larger publishing houses manuscripts often lie in offices for years sight unseen unless there is a potential for a 'big money maker' and for the lucky few who are chosen to be published, a small percentage (money) of the book is actually given to the author -- Also, authors loose their rights for editorial re-writes, design and 'branding' -- Most importantly, a publisher WILL NOT market your book strongly; the bulk of the 'blood, sweat and tears' marketing is left to the author -- This is something you must do research on, ask questions and absolutely soul search within yourself asking yourself, 'how much are you willing to do' for your 'baby' (your book). I hope this helped a bit and I wish you the very best!
Hi Mavis,

My name is Sean and I'm from Singapore. I have just self-published my first book called the "4 Steps To Financial Freedom".
Here are the answers to some of your questions.

What is Self-Publishing?