The Book Marketing Network

For book/ebook authors, publishers, & self-publishers

I have been approached by two different small traditional publishers to co-publish my historical novel after I sent them a query. I allowed one of them to send me a contract but in the end decided against the 'deal' as I could self-publish for much less than what I was asked to contribute to the co-publishing deal. I was told I would still have to do much of the marketing. Other than having a 'legitimacy' not always accorded to a self-published author, I just couldn't see myself doing this. Their reasoning on the co-publishing was that I was a new and unknown author with no ready, for sure audience; thus a high risk.

My question is whether or not anyone here has had experience with co-publishing offers and whether or not it worked out for the benefit of the author to do this?

Thanks! I'm new here and like a kid in a candy store! lol

Sherri Knight
author of Tom P's Fiddle

Views: 54

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi

I guess you have to way up the cost-reward trade off.

You could do it cheaper yourself. But if you end up with a poorer quality product, with fewer sales, then it wasn't worth it. Remember the old adage I am too poor to buy cheap shoes.

But, if you don't think they have a good marketing plan, don't have good links into bookstores, distributors libraries, magazine reviews, etc etc then they don't deserve the extra money they are charging.

Would they be prepared to give you a reference list of other people they've co-published with, so you can talk about their perspective of whether it is worth the extra money?
Hi Marion,