The Book Marketing Network

For book/ebook authors, publishers, & self-publishers

I've been marketing authors (and some publishing companies) since 1982 - I got started when publishers kept dropping the ball in promoting my own books - and this led to a useful side business. Since then, I've also taught writing-for-publication at the college level and I've even owned a literary agency for about a dozen years.

Based on this experience (and to help me screen out/screen in potential clients), I've put together several blogs that describe my techniques for promoting authors ...

http://barnettonpublishing.blogspot.com/2004/11/top-ten-bottom-line...

This one is aimed at authors who want to promote themselves - I use it in three ways:

1. I use it to help authors who want to do their own book promotion - it gives them some useful ideas that I'm glad to share

2. I use it to screen out authors who are looking for a publicist but who have very different views than I might have (by letting them know my approaches, we can avoid "mistakes" and 'surprises")

3. I help authors who think they want a publicist to realize that they might be able to do the promotion themselves (i.e., they don't need me to succeed)

My goals in offering information on what has worked for more than 25 years include:

a. Authors I encounter have the benefit of my experience and strategic thinking - without having to pay for it - especially if they believe they can do it themselves (but who aren't sure how).

b. Authors I encounter can determine if they want to work with me - or not.

c. Authors I encounter who still want to work with me after reading my ideas do so from an "informed consent" perspective.

I have other information available, free and without obligation for authors, and it can be found at: http://barnettonpublishing.blogspot.com/

I hope this helps some folks on the list - more important, I hope my approach to book marketing and promotion will prove helpful to YOU.

All the best

Ned