The Book Marketing Network

For book/ebook authors, publishers, & self-publishers

I will start by saying this; books don't sell themselves. I have to admit that I am new to this but I am very resourceful and thrifty, meaning I don't want to spend money on advertising. My book, The Adventures of Blackberry and Whiskers, is doing really well right now for being only released for two weeks. Here are some things I have done that are free and VERY helpful.

1) MySpace. With a network of more than 224 million people, this is by far the best way to begin a campaign. I began with a simple page and I keep it moderatley plain. I target my audience and send friend requests. It was time consuming but within 2 weeks I had a friend base of 680+ people. I then enlist a few "ringers" such as high profile celebrities. Why? Well, even though they dont have the time of day to respond to messages they still have thousands of fans. I post comments to thier pages with a link to my website, www.ferrerbooks.com, and to my profile. I have generated hundreds of responses this way. People that check on the actor / musician will see my profile and say "Wow, I should check this guy out" and they DO!!

So, MySpace has been a huge success for me. See my page and add me as a friend at;

www.myspace.com/reinaldoferrer

2) Set up a website. It does not cost much and with the right tags and key terms, your site will generate some good press. I was shocked but I am getting over 50-75 hits per day. Check it out as it is simple as well.

www.ferrerbooks.com

What I do then is submit it to all major search engines (free) and I use this site in any response or email signature or anything else that stays on the web. This is one of the best tactics.