The Book Marketing Network

For book/ebook authors, publishers, & self-publishers

C. A. Milson
  • Male
Share on Facebook
Share
  • Blog Posts
  • Discussions
  • Events
  • Groups
  • Photos (8)
  • Photo Albums
  • Videos (3)

C. A. Milson's Friends

  • Turner Maxwell Books
  • DragonCub
  • Karina Arutyunyan
  • Bill Frank
  • John Kremer

Gifts Received

Gift

C. A. Milson has not received any gifts yet

Give a Gift

 

C. A. Milson's Page

Profile Information

Something About Me and My Book:
Chris Jackson writes under the pen-name of C.A.Milson. Jackson was born in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. His father is British and his mother is Australian. His roots stem from Britain he also has roots in Germany.

Growing up in Brisbane in the suburb of Kedron. Jackson attended local high school, Kedron High then Wavell High.

From a teenager he started to read the workings of master horror writer H.P.Lovecraft and found a love for horror writing himself. He didn’t start to develop that love for writing until 1989, when he was living in Winchelsea, Victoria, when he wrote 26 short stories. In 1994 he took one of those short stories and turned it into a two-part novel. In 2007 he landed his first book deal with an American publisher.

In 2009, Jackson changed publishers and the full version of The Chosen was re-released as Rise of The Darkness in May 2009 in Hardcover, Paperback and several digital formats. Rise Of The Darkness includes characters and scenes that were previously cut from the first novel.

Jackson also gives public and private lectures on writing and coaching/training on marketing.

Jackson's taste in music ranges from Alien Ant Farm to ZZTop, but he holds a particular like for Rock Music and Aussie bands such as AC/DC, Dragon and The Uncanny Xmen (Uncanny Xmen were a popular band in Australia for a brief time)

When Jackson is not writing he travels frequently between Europe, North America and Australasia.

Jackson has resided in the US, (where he lived in NYC and NW Ohio), New Zealand, and is currently based in Samara, Russia.

His most recent works include Rise Of The Darkness, Izbranny, and Bloodline of Darkness.

Jackson is currently working on 2 new short stories, as well as his other projects: You Tube Urban Myths and Legends.

Imagine a world beyond our own where Dark Forces reign, and only one mortal stands in the way of their enslavement of humanity. The Chosen, Bloodline of Darkness, and 2012 - Prophecy’s End follow the life of Alex Manning. A hero called to face a destiny that he wants no part of.

The writings of "C.A.Milson" have been described as: “A must read for Stephen King fans“, “C.A. has shown he has what it takes to stand among his peers“, and “A thrillride from the first drop of ink.”

Milson's publishing credits include:
The Chosen - July 2008
Izbranny - April 2009 (Russian language version)
The Chosen - Rise Of The Darkness - May 2009
Bloodline Of Darkness - 2009
Prophecys End 2012 - 2010
Ghosts Of Chapayevsk - 2009

Milson was also nominated for the P&E:
Best New Horror Novel - 2008
Best new Author - 2008

Screenplays in Development:
Road To Russia - 2009
Russian Urban Legends - 2009

No Ordinary Girl - Set the the music of Caribbean Blue, the film is about a young woman who lives an ordinary life, but at the same time she has a creative world going on inside her. The film mixes documentary-like images with creative imagery, as the film reflects on an ordinary day in the life of a not so ordinary girl.

Darkness Unearthed - What if the world you knew was nothing more than a shadow of realism? Based on The Chosen Series, the new screenplay by C.A. Milson will be released in 2010.

For more information on the author, book tours, visit the web at:
www.authorcamilson.com
Website:
http://www.authorcamilson.com

Book Review by Grammar Chic

The Chosen: Rise of the Darkness.

C.A. Milson.

Australia: May 2009
304 pp.

Review by Amanda E. Clark, Editor-in-Chief, Grammar Chic, Inc.

Author C.A. Milson explores the line between good and evil in the new, thrilling page turner, The Chosen: Rise of the Darkness and introduces the reader into a terrifying world that will have you guessing until the very end. In his latest piece of work, Milson tells the story of Alex Manning, a man who finds himself entertaining a strange fascination with a powerful demon by the name of Jamiesonn and the town that will fall victim to the peril of this devil if someone doesn’t intervene. What Alex doesn’t know is that his draw to investigate this evil source of power is because he is being called by his destiny to stop the takeover of the world by warring factions of the underworld.

The story begins by introducing us to Alex as he is on his way to a supernatural society meeting where he is instantly intrigued by the story of the evil demon Jamiesonn. Approaching researcher Drake Winters, he asks to be involved in banishing the demon from the Earth. What Alex doesn’t understand is his involvement a siren song to his destiny as opposed to following a personal death wish. Alex learns of “The One,” a man foretold by the ancients who will walk the Earth and banish evil forces into hell to protect mankind. Unfortunately, the war that is brewing does not only involve Jamiesonn, but other evil beings that are locked into a power play against each other and against humanity. What Alex must decide is how to get rid of these competing beacons of evil before they find a way to get rid of him.

This is a wickedly entertaining read that starts with action from the first page and leaves you breathless until the very end. The fate of the future of humanity lies in Alex’s hands and Milson does an incredible job of developing characters and setting the stage. The book transitions from back and forth between various storylines, but does so in such a smooth manner that the reader is curious about all the angles of all the characters, regardless of good or evil.

Readers who enjoy Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate the voice that Milson invokes in his tale. A delicious combination of fantasy and horror, The Chosen: Rise of the Darkness is at times full of blood and gore but also has the attributes of the spiritual and ultimately epic quest of a hero who is destined to become who he is meant to be. The classic struggle of the main character evokes the spirit of Tolkien and Katherine Kurtz as Alex Manning pursues his quest to become The One and save humanity from its destruction at the hands of villainous forces. Milson is an excellent study in not giving his main character an easy out or an abundance of accessible choices at his fingertips. The reader constantly wonders if inevitably Alex is going to be forced to make a deal with one of the forces of darkness that would be the lesser of two evils. On top of dealing with forces bigger than Heaven and Hell, Alex has to deal with treachery amongst his own. The book has the reader constantly looking over their shoulder, not sure who to trust.

The Chosen: Rise of the Darkness is a thrill ride from start to finish. Author C.A. Milson is a colorful writer with much imagination. Milson has done a great job of creating himself as a certifiable expert in the horror and fantasy genre. He speaks with the same tantalizing words that authors like King and Michael McDowell utilize, leaving a reader sitting on the edge of their seat or hiding under their covers. Milson is a fabulous example of what horror writing should be through his creative use of light versus dark, good versus evil and in the end will leave you guessing who is going to win. While some scenes are violent and bloody, there is balance through character development and the use of flashback in each of the individual stories to give the characters identity and personality.

The Chosen: Rise of the Darkness is the third book out in print by C.A. Milson. He is the author of other books in The Chosen series as well as the author of 26 short stories. Milson is fan of H.P. Lovecraft and found himself a home in the horror genre as a writer in 1989. Milson was born in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia and has resided in the United States and New Zealand. He currently calls Russia his home as he creates and prepares his next novel.

Amanda Clark (Grammar Chic)

C. A. Milson's Photos

  • Add Photos
  • View All

C. A. Milson's Videos

  • Add Videos
  • View All

Comment Wall (3 comments)

You need to be a member of The Book Marketing Network to add comments!

Join The Book Marketing Network

At 11:03pm on July 15, 2009, DragonCub said…
Hello and welcome Milson,

I'd be delighted if you'd check out my website DragonCub at http://www.dragoncub.com/books. You can add your book(s) details here to introduce your work to the world :) It costs nothing!
At 7:59pm on June 10, 2009, John Kremer said…
Welcome to the Book Marketing Network. Join in some discussions, post a blog or video, schedule an event, make some friends. I think you'll enjoy it here.

John Kremer, book marketing expert
http://www.bookmarket.com



At 7:15am on June 10, 2009, Karina Arutyunyan said…
Welcome, Chris!
 
 
 

About

John Kremer created this Ning Network.

Recommended Website

Music

Paused...
  • 1.
    John Kremer on Marketing Books
  • 2.
    Angels
  • 3.
    Brown Eyed Girl

© 2021   Created by John Kremer.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service