The Book Marketing Network

For book/ebook authors, publishers, & self-publishers

Since we have such a diversified group of professionals in this network I thought, as a newbie, I would pose a question that I am having with getting my book printed.

I originally had my book in Microsoft Publisher and it was perfect. Then I discovered that format was not accepted by most publishers and printers. So I put it in a Word doc with a template I purchased for a 5.5x8.5 perfect bound, soft cover book. Then I read in Dan Poynter's book what the margins should be. They were different from the template. So I used them. Those make the text look off center. I am sure if I make it into a pdf that it will look that way too.

So my question is: What exactly is the setup/format/margins/gutter/header for a 5.5x8.5 book? This is the only thing keeping me from the printer now.

I hope someone out there can help me. And hopefully (probably to the relief of many of you) this will be my last question. *grin* At least on that part of the book process.

Views: 0

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

First, if at all possible, I would NOT use Word for any of the bookblock. Word is a great word processor, but it is not good at typesetting, formatting, kerning, and all of the subtleties that a professional typesetting program does (or can do). Examples of these programs include: InDesign and Quark. Now, that does not mean that Word is not ok, as it will output .pdfs that can then be used to print books. However, there are many things that Word fails on in terms of properly typesetting a document.